The Village Child Development Center
Licensed Center in Newton, Texas. License #1347009, issued July 1, 2011.
- Address
- 402 S Kaufman St, Newton, TX 75966
- Phone
- (409) 379-2083
- Licensed capacity
- 75 children
- Licensed for
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- 06:30 AM-06:00 PM
- Days
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
- Child care subsidies
- Accepted
Openings
This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.
Texas Rising Star
Texas Rising Star 3-star of a possible 4
A quality rating the state awards after an on-site assessment. Four stars is the highest.
In effect since October 23, 2025. From the state's provider report of April 8, 2026.
Where this is
A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.
The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.
What inspectors checked
Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,281 standards at The Village Child Development Center between December 21, 2021 and February 3, 2026 and recorded 7 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.
The 22 areas, one by one
| Area of the rules | Visits | Standards checked | Violated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scope, administration, and communication | 2 | 242 | 0 |
| Record keeping | 3 | 326 | 0 |
| Personnel | 3 | 435 | 0 |
| Ratios and group sizes | 3 | 162 | 0 |
| Activities | 3 | 104 | 0 |
| Infants | 3 | 267 | 0 |
| Toddlers | 3 | 66 | 0 |
| Pre-kindergarten | 2 | 38 | 0 |
| School-age | 3 | 60 | 0 |
| Discipline | 3 | 60 | 0 |
| Naptime | 3 | 36 | 0 |
| Field trips | 3 | 33 | 0 |
| Get well care | 3 | 81 | 0 |
| Nighttime care | 3 | 39 | 0 |
| Nutrition and food care | 2 | 90 | 0 |
| Health practices | 3 | 338 | 1 |
| Safety practices | 2 | 154 | 0 |
| Physical facilities | 3 | 224 | 0 |
| Outdoor safety | 2 | 192 | 0 |
| Pools | 2 | 54 | 0 |
| Fire safety | 2 | 135 | 2 |
| Transportation | 3 | 132 | 0 |
The table adds up to 3,268 of those standards. The remaining 13, including 4 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.
A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.
Ask about an opening
This goes to The Village Child Development Center and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.
Tell me about new inspections
One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.
We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.
State inspection record
HHSC records 13 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on February 3, 2026, and 7 citations.
- 4Medium High
- 3Medium Low
Every citation below records a correction.
Citations
Showing all 7. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.
- Medium High February 3, 2026 Correction verified March 6, 2026
746.5101(b): Annual Fire Inspection - Conducted by Fire Marshal
The most recent fire inspection was conducted on 4/4/2024. The director will make contact with the fire marshal so a new inspection can be completed by the compliance date.
- Medium High February 3, 2026 Correction verified February 17, 2026
746.3401(a): Annual Sanitation Inspection
The most recent health inspection was conducted on 10/1/2024. The director will make contact with the health inspector so that a new inspection can be completed by the compliance date.
- Medium Low January 23, 2026 Correction verified February 3, 2026
746.303(b): Report Number of Employees
The operation did not report via online provider account the number of employees who ceased working at the operation during the previous calendar year by January 15th, 2026 as required.
- Medium High February 13, 2025 Correction verified March 10, 2025
746.5205(3): Sheltering Drills for Lock-Down-4 times in a calendar year
The operation has not been conducting lock-down drills as required by standards. Documentation of a completed drill will be sent to CCR staff by the compliance date.
- Medium Low January 24, 2025 Correction verified January 27, 2025
746.303(b): Report Number of Employees
A Review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 22, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
- Medium High May 5, 2023 Correction verified June 26, 2023
746.5101(b): Annual Fire Inspection - Conducted by Fire Marshal
The most recent fire inspection was conducted on 4/5/2022. The director will schedule a new inspection to be completed by a certified inspector by the compliance date.
- Medium Low March 2, 2022 Correction verified March 4, 2022
746.303(b): Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22nd, 2022, as required.
Do you have a child enrolled here?
If The Village Child Development Center confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.
There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.
About this record
Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.
Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.