The Learning Tree
Licensed Center in Yoakum, Texas. License #1354110, issued August 13, 2012.
- Address
- 124 E Gonzales St, Yoakum, TX 77995
- Phone
- (361) 293-7415
- Licensed capacity
- 89 children
- Licensed for
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- 06:30 AM-05:30 PM
- Days
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
- Child care subsidies
- Accepted
Programs listed with the state: School Age Care, Before School Care, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Drop-In Care, Part Time Care, Transportation to/from School, Field Trips.
Openings
This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.
Texas Rising Star
Texas Rising Star 4-star of a possible 4
A quality rating the state awards after an on-site assessment. Four stars is the highest.
In effect since November 8, 2025. From the state's provider report of October 19, 2026.
Where this is
A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.
The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.
What inspectors checked
Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,787 standards at The Learning Tree between February 8, 2022 and July 21, 2026 and recorded 28 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.
The 22 areas, one by one
| Area of the rules | Visits | Standards checked | Violated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scope, administration, and communication | 3 | 363 | 0 |
| Record keeping | 3 | 331 | 4 |
| Personnel | 3 | 435 | 2 |
| Ratios and group sizes | 3 | 162 | 0 |
| Activities | 3 | 104 | 1 |
| Infants | 3 | 267 | 1 |
| Toddlers | 3 | 66 | 0 |
| Pre-kindergarten | 3 | 55 | 0 |
| School-age | 3 | 60 | 0 |
| Discipline | 3 | 60 | 0 |
| Naptime | 3 | 36 | 0 |
| Field trips | 3 | 33 | 0 |
| Get well care | 3 | 81 | 0 |
| Nighttime care | 3 | 39 | 0 |
| Nutrition and food care | 3 | 134 | 0 |
| Health practices | 3 | 338 | 1 |
| Safety practices | 3 | 222 | 1 |
| Physical facilities | 3 | 224 | 0 |
| Outdoor safety | 3 | 288 | 0 |
| Pools | 3 | 78 | 0 |
| Fire safety | 3 | 203 | 1 |
| Transportation | 4 | 166 | 0 |
The table adds up to 3,745 of those standards. The remaining 42, including 17 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.
A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.
Ask about an opening
This goes to The Learning Tree and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.
Tell me about new inspections
One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.
We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.
State inspection record
HHSC records 18 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on July 21, 2026, and 28 citations.
- 9High
- 12Medium High
- 6Medium
- 1Medium Low
Every citation below records a correction.
Citations
Showing the 25 most recent of 28. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.
- Medium Low July 21, 2026 Corrected at inspection
746.901(5): Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit (Form 2912)
2 out of 8 employee files lacked the pre employment affidavit.
- High August 26, 2025 Correction verified August 28, 2025
746.5101(a): Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months
The operation did not have a current fire inspection. The last fire inspection was conducted in June 2024.
- Medium High May 24, 2024 Correction verified May 29, 2024
746.1605(1): Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age
A 26 month old child was mixed with a 3 month old infant.
- High April 16, 2024 Correction verified May 24, 2024
746.2805(3): Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling
During the course of a DFPS investigation, it was determined that a caregiver grabbed a child roughly by the arm.
- High April 16, 2024 Correction verified May 24, 2024
746.305(a)(6): Report Situation Placing Children at Risk
During the course of a DFPS investigation, it was determined that a caregiver grabbed a child roughly by the arm and it was not reported to Child Care Regulation.
- High April 16, 2024 Correction verified May 24, 2024
746.2805(6): Prohibited Punishments - Using Harsh, Abusive or Profane Language
During the course of a DFPS investigation it was determined that a caregiver used profane language towards a child.
- High April 16, 2024 Correction verified May 24, 2024
746.307(b)(4): Parental Communication - Situation that Placed a Child at Risk
During the course of a DFPS investigation it was determined that a child was grabbed roughly by a caregiver, and it was not reported to the parents timely.
- Medium January 8, 2024 Correction verified January 25, 2024
746.611(a)(3): Health Statement parent sign - Dated within past yr, name/address health care professional, states child can participate. Follow by signed statement
One out of nine children files lacked a health statement.
- Medium January 8, 2024 Correction verified January 25, 2024
746.1309(e): Documented Annual Training- Required Content
Three out of five personnel files checked lacked the required 6 topics of training.
- Medium January 8, 2024 Correction verified January 24, 2024
746.5205(4): Documentation of Drills
The operation did not have any documentation of drills for the year of 2023.
- Medium High January 8, 2024 Correction verified January 25, 2024
746.1301(a)(1)(A): Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Orientation
One out of five personnel files lacked pre service and orientation.
- High January 8, 2024 Correction verified January 25, 2024
746.613(a): Required Immunizations
One out of 9 children files lacked current immunizations.
- Medium High January 8, 2024 Correction verified January 25, 2024
746.605(6): Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact
One out of nine children files lacked a full emergency contact address.
- Medium January 8, 2024 Correction verified January 25, 2024
746.1309(c): Documented Annual Training - 1 hour in Prevention, Recognition and Reporting of child maltreatment
Four out of five employee files lacked training in prevention, recognition, and reporting of child maltreatment.
- Medium High February 15, 2023 Corrected at inspection
746.3701: Safety - Areas Free From Hazards
Two Classrooms had cleaning supplies out in reach to children and one classroom had one electrical outlet not covered. Note: This was corrected at inspection.
- Medium High December 12, 2022 Correction verified January 17, 2023
746.3803(a)(1): Medication Authorization - Signed and Dated
The operation applied an over-the-counter ointment on a child without the proper authorization from the parent.
- Medium August 17, 2022 Correction verified August 24, 2022
746.5205(4): Documentation of Drills
The last documented fire drill was February 2022.
- Medium High August 17, 2022 Correction verified August 19, 2022
746.1301(7)(A): Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Transportation Training
The director lacked current transportation training.
- Medium High August 17, 2022 Correction verified August 19, 2022
746.1311(d): Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months
The director lacked current SIDS/Shaken baby training.
- High August 17, 2022 Corrected at inspection
746.3407(12): Mark Cleaning Supplies, Toxic Materials; Keep Separate from Food and Inaccessible to Children
Cleaning supplies were observed under two sink cabinets. Note: This was corrected when the supplies were removed.
- Medium High March 7, 2022 Correction verified May 2, 2022
746.1301(5)(A): Training Requirements for Employees and Caregivers - 24 Annual Training
Two personnel records reviewed did not have the required 24 hours of annual training complete for their annual training year.
- Medium High March 7, 2022 Correction verified March 16, 2022
746.2431: Infant Daily Report - Share with Parent
Infant Daily reports were not complete for six infants that were in care at the time of inspection.
- Medium March 7, 2022 Correction verified March 16, 2022
746.2209: Posting of Activity Plan
One classroom was observed not having the current activity plan posted in the Toddler Classroom.
- Medium High March 7, 2022 Correction verified March 16, 2022
746.4901(a): Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing
Outdoor play structure slide did not have loose fill at the required depth under the slide at the time of my inspection.
- Medium High March 7, 2022 Correction verified March 16, 2022
746.605(6): Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact
Two children's records reviewed did not have the completed designated contact information on the admisison form at the time of inspection.
Do you have a child enrolled here?
If The Learning Tree confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.
There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.
About this record
Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.
Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.