ChildCareTX

The Learning Center

Licensed Center in Lumberton, Texas. License #944190, issued April 27, 2009.

Address
124 Country Lane Dr, Lumberton, TX 77657
Phone
(409) 755-2999
Licensed capacity
186 children
Licensed for
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
06:30 AM-06:00 PM
Days
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Child care subsidies
Accepted

Programs listed with the state: School Age Care, Before School Care, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Drop-In Care, Skill Classes, Part Time Care, Transportation to/from School, Field Trips.

Openings

This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.

Texas Rising Star

Texas Rising Star 3-star of a possible 4

A quality rating the state awards after an on-site assessment. Four stars is the highest.

In effect since March 15, 2026. From the state's provider report of September 15, 2026.

Where this is

A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.

Open in OpenStreetMap

The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.

What inspectors checked

Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,753 standards at The Learning Center between November 29, 2021 and November 2, 2026 and recorded 18 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.

The 22 areas, one by one
Area of the rulesVisitsStandards checkedViolated
Scope, administration, and communication33581
Record keeping33261
Personnel34422
Ratios and group sizes31620
Activities31040
Infants32673
Toddlers3660
Pre-kindergarten3550
School-age3600
Discipline3600
Naptime3360
Field trips3330
Get well care3810
Nighttime care3390
Nutrition and food care31340
Health practices33380
Safety practices32220
Physical facilities32240
Outdoor safety32880
Pools3840
Fire safety32030
Transportation31321

The table adds up to 3,714 of those standards. The remaining 39, including 10 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.

A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.

Ask about an opening

This goes to The Learning Center and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.

We email you a copy, and tell you honestly whether it reached them. Texas HHSC has no email address on file for about two programs in five, and for those the phone number above is the faster route.

Tell me about new inspections

One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.

We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.

State inspection record

HHSC records 21 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on November 2, 2026, and 18 citations.

212426
visitsvisits where something was found21 recorded visits since October 2017. More visits does not mean a worse program: how often the state comes depends on the license type, the program's age and whether anyone complained.
  • 6High
  • 7Medium High
  • 4Medium
  • 1Medium Low

Every citation below records a correction.

Citations

Showing all 18. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.

  1. Medium October 16, 2026 Corrected at inspection

    746.2207(c)(6): Screen Time Activities - Off When Not in Use

    The television in the school age room was observed to be turning on in an empty room. NOTE: The school age group was observed to be on the playground during the inspection. Corrected at inspection. the television was turned off.
  2. Medium High October 16, 2026 Reported corrected October 16, 2026, not yet verified

    746.1203(3)(B): Meal preparation, except when 12 or fewer children are in care

    A caregiver was observed cooking while supervising a group of 8 children 18m-4yrs old. NOTE: The caregiver was observed to be walking back and forth between the kitchen area and eating are where the children were. Corrected at inspecton, the caregiver stopped cooking and resumed supervising the group.
  3. High October 2, 2026 Correction verified October 2, 2026

    746.1205(a)(2): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know number of children responsible for

    One careigver in charge of 13 children was not aware of the number of children in their care, When asked, the caregiver stated they didn't know and that they just arrived, after walking around, the caregiver stated there were 12 children. After a few minutes, a 13th child was observed exiting the restroom. The caregiver was not aware of the child in the restroom.
  4. High August 25, 2026 Correction verified August 31, 2026

    746.2415(b): AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age

    An infant crib was observed to have toys with the child present inside after waking from sleep. Another infant under a month old was observed to have a pacifier attached to their clothing while sleeping.
  5. High August 25, 2026 Correction verified August 31, 2026

    746.2427: AP Infants Sleep on Backs or Must Have Completed and Signed Sleep Exception Form for the Infant

    There was a child observed sleeping on their stomach without being able to independently roll over. The caregiver supervising reported that the infant prefers to sleep on their stomach.
  6. Medium High August 21, 2026 Correction verified November 21, 2026

    746.305(a)(2): AP Report Child Injury Requiring Medical Treatment by a Health-Care Professional or Hospitalization

    A child in care sustained an injury requiring medical treatment, and the injury was not reported to Licensing as required.
  7. Medium August 21, 2026 Correction verified November 21, 2026

    746.707: Incident/Illness Report Form Shared with Parent

    The incident report was not signed by the parent.
  8. Medium Low January 25, 2026 Correction verified January 28, 2026

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A Review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 21, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
  9. High October 27, 2025 Correction verified November 5, 2025

    746.5617(a)(5): Required Equipment in Vehicles - Fire Extinguisher

    The fire extinguisher in one of the operation's vans was not properly secured in the passenger compartment. A picture was taken.
  10. Medium High August 26, 2025 Correction verified September 3, 2025

    746.1601: Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children

    During the walk through, one caregiver was observed with 7 children. The specified age group for this class was determined to be 12-17 months of age. One caregiver can only have 5 children with this specified age group. This was corrected when another caregiver came into the room.
  11. Medium High August 18, 2025 Correction verified September 3, 2025

    746.2419(8): Requirements for Feeding Infants - Other Use of Handwashing Sink

    Evidence supports through caregiver interview that cups used for infants are being washed in the handwashing sink.
  12. Medium November 1, 2023 Correction verified November 6, 2023

    746.501(a)(30): Written Operational Policies - Support inclusive services

    The operational policies were lacking information related to the support of inclusive services.
  13. High November 2, 2022 Correction verified November 9, 2022

    746.2415(b): AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age

    Two infants in care that were younger that 12 months of age were observed with a boppy pillow and blanket in their cribs.
  14. Medium High November 2, 2022 Correction verified November 9, 2022

    746.1203(6): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Free of other activities

    One caregiver was observed using a cell phone for personal use during naptime. This was discussed with the Director.
  15. Medium High November 2, 2022 Correction verified November 9, 2022

    746.2409(a)(2): Safety Requirements for Cribs - Snug Fitting Sheets

    Two cribs had sheets that were not snug fitting. The sheets were loose and able to be grabbed off of the mattress.
  16. High November 2, 2022 Correction verified November 9, 2022

    746.2419(3): Requirements for Feeding Infants - Never Prop Bottles

    During the inspection, one infant was observed with a propped bottle. This was corrected during the inspection.
  17. Medium November 29, 2021 Correction verified December 1, 2021

    746.603(a)(4): Children's Records - Immunizations

    Three children's records were lacking a current immunization record.
  18. Medium High November 29, 2021 Corrected at inspection

    746.2407: Infant Care Area Furnishings and Equipment -Use of Safety Straps

    The infants in the 12-18 month room did have the straps on while sitting at the toddler table. Caregivers put the straps on during the inspection.
Do you have a child enrolled here?

If The Learning Center confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.

There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.

About this record

Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 7, 2026. Full methodology.

Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.