ChildCareTX

The Kipling School, Inc.

Licensed Center in Houston, Texas. License #1499069, issued June 19, 2013.

Address
620 Shepherd Dr, Houston, TX 77007
Phone
(713) 861-6743
Licensed capacity
208 children
Licensed for
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
07:00 AM-06:00 PM
Days
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Child care subsidies
Not accepted
Website
thekiplingschool.com

Programs listed with the state: Meals Provided, Snacks Provided.

The state records conditions on this permit . What these mean.

Openings

This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.

Texas Rising Star

No Texas Rising Star rating

Texas Rising Star is voluntary, and a program joins it by applying. It is tied to accepting child care scholarships, so most programs that are not in it never applied rather than failed. Roughly three in five licensed programs in Texas have no rating.

This says nothing about the quality of this program. What the state has assessed about it is the inspection record below.

Where this is

A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.

Open in OpenStreetMap

The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.

What inspectors checked

Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,082 standards at The Kipling School, Inc. between February 25, 2022 and September 10, 2026 and recorded 16 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.

The 22 areas, one by one
Area of the rulesVisitsStandards checkedViolated
Scope, administration, and communication22470
Record keeping33260
Personnel34361
Ratios and group sizes21081
Activities31040
Infants32670
Toddlers3661
Pre-kindergarten3550
School-age3600
Discipline3600
Naptime3360
Field trips3330
Get well care3810
Nighttime care3390
Nutrition and food care2900
Health practices22260
Safety practices21541
Physical facilities21501
Outdoor safety21920
Pools3780
Fire safety21350
Transportation2980

The table adds up to 3,041 of those standards. The remaining 41, including 11 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.

A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.

What The Kipling School, Inc. says about itself

The Kipling School is currently enrolling in our Early Childhood programs and accepting applications for Kindergarten through 8th Grade!

Quoted from thekiplingschool.com, read on October 25, 2026. These are the program's own words, not ours, and we neither check nor endorse them.

Ask about an opening

This goes to The Kipling School, Inc. and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.

We email you a copy, and tell you honestly whether it reached them. Texas HHSC has no email address on file for about two programs in five, and for those the phone number above is the faster route.

Tell me about new inspections

One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.

We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.

State inspection record

HHSC records 14 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on September 10, 2026, and 16 citations.

222526
visitsvisits where something was found14 recorded visits since October 2017. More visits does not mean a worse program: how often the state comes depends on the license type, the program's age and whether anyone complained.
  • 2High
  • 7Medium High
  • 5Medium
  • 2Medium Low

Every citation below records a correction.

Citations

Showing all 16. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.

  1. Medium High May 15, 2024 Corrected at inspection

    746.4217(2): Caring for Children Above or Below Ground Level - Follow any restrictions

    Based upon the information obtained during the investigation, sufficient evidence was available to support the restrictions issued by the Fire Marshal had not been followed by allowing children under 2-years old to be cared for above ground level in the months of March and April 2024. CORRECTED - There were no children under 2-years-old being cared for in May 2024. Procedures have been put in place to ensure children who have not turned 2-years old will not be allowed upstairs.
  2. Medium Low January 18, 2024 Correction verified January 18, 2024

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023, revealed the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.
  3. Medium High September 19, 2023 Correction verified October 5, 2023

    746.2409(a)(2): Safety Requirements for Cribs - Snug Fitting Sheets

    Sheets in four infant cribs were observed loose.
  4. Medium High September 19, 2023 Correction verified October 6, 2023

    746.1315(b)(1): CPR Training and Recertification Adhere to Guidelines-skill based

    Out of the five staff files evaluated during the inspection, one was obtained CPR training through the NationalCPRFountation which is an online class.
  5. Medium September 19, 2023 Correction verified October 5, 2023

    746.1613(a): Reduction of child/caregiver naptime ratio by 50% allowed, If 13 or more children in care, children are 18 mo. or older and other standards met

    Child/caregiver ratio was reduced for a group of children that included infants 12-17 months old.
  6. High September 19, 2023 Correction verified October 5, 2023

    746.2415(b): AP Cribs - Only Snug Fitting Sheet and Crib Mattress Cover Allowed if Infant Younger than 12 Months of Age

    A two month infant was observed sleeping with a white noise machine/speaker inside of their crib.
  7. Medium September 19, 2023 Correction verified October 5, 2023

    746.2421(b): Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days

    Written feeding instructions for a child not yet on table food was last updated 08/06/2023
  8. Medium High September 19, 2023 Corrected at inspection

    746.4135(a): Children's Products- Review list and Remove unsafe products

    A boppy pillow recalled 9/23/21 was observed to be in the infant room and in use by an infant in care.
  9. Medium High September 19, 2023 Correction verified October 5, 2023

    746.4217(2): Caring for Children Above or Below Ground Level - Follow any restrictions

    Two children under 24 months old were being cared for above ground level.
  10. Medium High October 4, 2022 Correction verified October 5, 2022

    746.5401: Requirement of Gas Leak Inspection

    The operation has not had a gas inspection since 9/2/2020.
  11. Medium October 4, 2022 Correction verified October 20, 2022

    746.4505: Storage for Individual Belongings

    In some classrooms children did not have storage space to be their belongings and in some classrooms the areas were not labeled the with the child s name.
  12. Medium October 4, 2022 Correction verified October 20, 2022

    746.2505(4)(A): Furnishings and Equipment for Toddlers - Bottles & Training Cups Labeled for Each Toddler

    Some of the toddler cups were not labeled with their names and last initial of last name.
  13. Medium October 4, 2022 Correction verified October 20, 2022

    746.4503(a): Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age

    In all classrooms some of the mats had tires and holes which the mat is no longer waterproof.
  14. Medium High October 4, 2022 Correction verified October 20, 2022

    746.3503(a): Diaper Changing Equipment - Smooth, Non-absorbent, Easy to Clean Surface

    In the infant classrooms the changing table mats had holes in them.
  15. High October 4, 2022 Correction verified October 20, 2022

    746.1203(2): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For

    The caregiver stated she had 10 children, then stated she had 8, when I counted their were 9 children in the classroom.
  16. Medium Low February 25, 2022 Correction verified February 25, 2022

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Do you have a child enrolled here?

If The Kipling School, Inc. confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.

There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.

About this record

Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.

Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.