ChildCareTX

Rucker Head Start

Licensed Center in Houston, Texas. License #1698103, issued December 14, 2020.

Address
5201 Vinett Ave, Houston, TX 77017
Phone
(713) 845-7467
Licensed capacity
97 children
Licensed for
Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
08:00 AM-04:00 PM
Days
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Child care subsidies
Not accepted

Programs listed with the state: School Age Care, Meals Provided, Snacks Provided.

Openings

This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.

Texas Rising Star

No Texas Rising Star rating

Texas Rising Star is voluntary, and a program joins it by applying. It is tied to accepting child care scholarships, so most programs that are not in it never applied rather than failed. Roughly three in five licensed programs in Texas have no rating.

This says nothing about the quality of this program. What the state has assessed about it is the inspection record below.

Where this is

A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.

Open in OpenStreetMap

The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.

What inspectors checked

Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,321 standards at Rucker Head Start between December 9, 2021 and November 10, 2025 and recorded 9 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.

The 22 areas, one by one
Area of the rulesVisitsStandards checkedViolated
Scope, administration, and communication33581
Record keeping33260
Personnel57160
Ratios and group sizes21080
Activities2680
Infants32670
Toddlers3660
Pre-kindergarten3550
School-age2400
Discipline2400
Naptime3360
Field trips3330
Get well care3810
Nighttime care3390
Nutrition and food care2890
Health practices22250
Safety practices21441
Physical facilities21490
Outdoor safety21920
Pools2540
Fire safety21360
Transportation2830

The table adds up to 3,305 of those standards. The remaining 16, including 7 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.

A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.

Ask about an opening

This goes to Rucker Head Start and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.

We email you a copy, and tell you honestly whether it reached them. Texas HHSC has no email address on file for about two programs in five, and for those the phone number above is the faster route.

Tell me about new inspections

One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.

We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.

State inspection record

HHSC records 14 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on November 10, 2025, and 9 citations.

212425
visitsvisits where something was found14 recorded visits since October 2017. More visits does not mean a worse program: how often the state comes depends on the license type, the program's age and whether anyone complained.
  • 3High
  • 3Medium High
  • 2Medium
  • 1Medium Low

Every citation below records a correction.

Citations

Showing all 9. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.

  1. Medium High November 12, 2024 Correction verified December 18, 2024

    746.1301(a)(4)(A): Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and Directors - Pediatric CPR

    It was found that 4 employees did not have valid CPR/first aid.
  2. High November 12, 2024 Correction verified November 13, 2024

    745.635(2): AP Background check determination - If ineligible then you must immediately remove subject from operation and confirm to CBCU receipt of notice letter

    A caregiver was present at the operation with an ineligible background check.
  3. Medium August 16, 2024 Correction verified October 25, 2024

    746.701(5): Licensing Incident/Illness Report Form - Situations Placing Children at Risk

    An incident report was not on record or provided for review during the investigation.
  4. High August 16, 2024 Correction verified October 25, 2024

    746.305(a)(6): Report Situation Placing Children at Risk

    An incident in which a child was placed at risk was not reported to Childcare Licensing as required.
  5. Medium August 16, 2024 Correction verified October 25, 2024

    746.707: Incident/Illness Report Form Shared with Parent

    Based on the information found during the investigation, there was sufficient evidence that an incident report was not shared with the parent.
  6. Medium High December 5, 2023 Correction verified December 6, 2023

    746.303(a)(4): Report Change in Director

    The director on record with licensing is no longer the director for the operation. The director on record ceased being the director in August 2023. There is a new director for the operation that licensing was not notified about. The new director took over director responsibilites in August 2023.
  7. Medium High December 9, 2022 Corrected at inspection

    746.3701(1): Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered

    In Room 32 there were electrical outlets accessible to the children that were not covered. Note: This was corrected during the inspection.
  8. Medium Low February 25, 2022 Correction verified February 25, 2022

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
  9. High December 13, 2021 Correction verified January 3, 2022

    745.621(b)(1)(A): AP Renewal background checks submitted -No later than 5 yrs from date last submitted subjects initial or renewal fingerprint-based criminal hist check

    One caregiver does not have renewed background check. Became inactive 8.23.2021
Do you have a child enrolled here?

If Rucker Head Start confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.

There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.

About this record

Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.

Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.