Primrose School of Upper Kirby
Licensed Center in Houston, Texas. License #1623720, issued October 21, 2016.
- Address
- 3001 Richmond Ave, Houston, TX 77098
- Phone
- (713) 522-6700
- Licensed capacity
- 207 children
- Licensed for
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- 06:30 AM-06:30 PM
- Days
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
- Child care subsidies
- Not accepted
- Website
- primroseupperkirby.com
Programs listed with the state: School Age Care, Before School Care, Accredited, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Part Time Care, Transportation to/from School, Field Trips.
The state records conditions on this permit . What these mean.
Openings
This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.
Texas Rising Star
No Texas Rising Star rating
Texas Rising Star is voluntary, and a program joins it by applying. It is tied to accepting child care scholarships, so most programs that are not in it never applied rather than failed. Roughly three in five licensed programs in Texas have no rating.
This says nothing about the quality of this program. What the state has assessed about it is the inspection record below.
Where this is
A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.
The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.
What inspectors checked
Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,540 standards at Primrose School of Upper Kirby between August 9, 2022 and July 16, 2026 and recorded 18 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.
The 22 areas, one by one
| Area of the rules | Visits | Standards checked | Violated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scope, administration, and communication | 3 | 365 | 0 |
| Record keeping | 2 | 225 | 1 |
| Personnel | 2 | 313 | 1 |
| Ratios and group sizes | 3 | 162 | 0 |
| Activities | 3 | 104 | 0 |
| Infants | 3 | 267 | 1 |
| Toddlers | 3 | 66 | 0 |
| Pre-kindergarten | 4 | 74 | 0 |
| School-age | 3 | 60 | 0 |
| Discipline | 3 | 60 | 0 |
| Naptime | 3 | 36 | 0 |
| Field trips | 3 | 33 | 0 |
| Get well care | 3 | 81 | 0 |
| Nighttime care | 3 | 39 | 0 |
| Nutrition and food care | 4 | 179 | 0 |
| Health practices | 3 | 338 | 0 |
| Safety practices | 3 | 220 | 1 |
| Physical facilities | 3 | 225 | 0 |
| Outdoor safety | 3 | 288 | 0 |
| Pools | 3 | 84 | 0 |
| Fire safety | 2 | 135 | 0 |
| Transportation | 3 | 147 | 0 |
The table adds up to 3,501 of those standards. The remaining 39, including 14 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.
A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.
What Primrose School of Upper Kirby says about itself
Located in Houston, TX, Primrose School of Upper Kirby's private preschool provides educational daycare and childcare services that inspire a lifelong love of learning.
Quoted from primroseschools.com/schools/upper-kirby, read on October 25, 2026. These are the program's own words, not ours, and we neither check nor endorse them.
Ask about an opening
This goes to Primrose School of Upper Kirby and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.
Tell me about new inspections
One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.
We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.
State inspection record
HHSC records 28 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on October 29, 2026, and 18 citations.
3 of those visits began with Primrose School of Upper Kirby reporting something to the state itself rather than HHSC finding it. We publish that because it is part of the record and the state records it separately, not because it is good or bad: a program with none may have had nothing to report. 3,674 of the 12,933 programs listed here have at least one.
- 9High
- 4Medium High
- 5Medium
Every citation below records a correction.
Citations
Showing all 18. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.
- High July 16, 2026 Correction verified July 23, 2026
746.5101(a): Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months
Documentation showing a fire inspection has been conducted was unavailable for review upon request.
- High May 14, 2026 Correction verified July 16, 2026
746.5101(a): Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months
Documentation showing a fire inspection has been conducted was unavailable for review upon request.
- High January 15, 2026 Correction verified February 24, 2026
746.1205(a)(4): Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
Based upon the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to support a child was left on the playground unsupervised.
- High June 27, 2025 Correction verified July 8, 2025
746.2805(3): Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling
A caregiver was observed grabbing a child during the follow-up inspection.
- High June 17, 2025 Correction verified June 27, 2025
746.1205(a)(1): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know children responsible for
A caregiver did know the number of children in care. The caregiver stated there were 6 children present and there was only 5 children.
- Medium High June 13, 2025 Correction verified June 17, 2025
746.1205(a)(3): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know children's names and ages
A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care.
- High June 10, 2025 Correction verified August 5, 2025
746.2805(3): Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling
Based upon the information obtained, there is sufficient evidence to support a child was pulled while in care.
- Medium June 6, 2025 Correction verified June 11, 2025
746.801(6): Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Liability Insurance
Proof of current liability insurance was unavailable upon request.
- Medium High June 6, 2025 Correction verified June 13, 2025
746.1205(a)(3): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know children's names and ages
A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care.
- High December 5, 2024 Correction verified January 14, 2025
746.2805(3): Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling
Based on the information obtained during the DFPS investigation it was determined a caregiver used prohibited punishment by grabbing a child.
- High October 3, 2022 Correction verified October 13, 2022
746.1203(2): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For
A caregiver responsible for the 1yr. and 2yr. olds did not state the correct number of children currently present in the classroom. The caregiver stated there were 10 children. There were 9 children currently present.
- Medium October 3, 2022 Corrected at inspection
745.651(1): Background Check Validation - You must inactivate a subject who is no longer associated with your operation within 7 days of leaving
The operation failed to inactivate two staff members background checks who are no longer employed at the operation with seven days of leaving the operation. One staff member last date of employment was on 9/9/2022 and the other staff member last date of employment was on 9/13/2022. Note: The two staff members background check were inactivated during the inspection.
- Medium August 9, 2022 Correction verified August 9, 2022
746.1311(a): Director Annual Training 30 Hours Required
The center director is missing 12 of 30 annual training hours.
- Medium High August 9, 2022 Correction verified August 12, 2022
746.605(6): Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact
Six children records reviewed were missing the emergency contact information from their files.
- Medium High August 9, 2022 Corrected at inspection
746.3819: Food Allergy Emergency Plan Signed by Parents and Health Care Professional
A child with a diagnosed food allergy and that requires an epipen is missing their parent signature on the food allergy emergency form. Note: The food allergy emergency form was signed by the child's parent during the inspection.
- High August 9, 2022 Correction verified August 25, 2022
746.1203(2): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Group Responsible For
A caregiver in the infant room (3m to 7m) did not state the correct number of children present. The caregiver stated there were 8 children present but there were 7 children currently present.
- Medium August 9, 2022 Correction verified August 9, 2022
746.1309(a): Documented Annual Training Area - 24 Hours Required
Four personnel records evaluated were missing 24 annual training hours.
- Medium August 9, 2022 Corrected at inspection
746.2421(b): Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days
Five infants who are not ready for table food did not have updated feeding instruction sheets. Note: The infant feeding sheets were updated during the inspection.
Do you have a child enrolled here?
If Primrose School of Upper Kirby confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.
There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.
About this record
Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.
Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.