ChildCareTX

Little People's Learning Tree

Licensed Center in Houston, Texas. License #878474, issued August 28, 2008.

Address
457 Pickering St, Houston, TX 77091
Phone
(713) 694-0066
Licensed capacity
62 children
Licensed for
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
06:00 AM-06:00 PM
Days
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Child care subsidies
Accepted

Programs listed with the state: School Age Care, Before School Care, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Drop-In Care, Part Time Care, Transportation to/from School, Field Trips.

The state records conditions on this permit . What these mean.

Openings

This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.

Texas Rising Star

Texas Rising Star 4-star of a possible 4

A quality rating the state awards after an on-site assessment. Four stars is the highest.

In effect since March 31, 2026. From the state's provider report of July 7, 2026.

Where this is

A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.

Open in OpenStreetMap

The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.

What inspectors checked

Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,984 standards at Little People's Learning Tree between November 10, 2021 and September 29, 2026 and recorded 25 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.

The 22 areas, one by one
Area of the rulesVisitsStandards checkedViolated
Scope, administration, and communication44731
Record keeping44321
Personnel45642
Ratios and group sizes31620
Activities31040
Infants32671
Toddlers2440
Pre-kindergarten3550
School-age3600
Discipline3600
Naptime2240
Field trips2220
Get well care2540
Nighttime care2260
Nutrition and food care2900
Health practices33381
Safety practices32200
Physical facilities32240
Outdoor safety32880
Pools3780
Fire safety32031
Transportation31320

The table adds up to 3,920 of those standards. The remaining 64, including 18 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.

A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.

Ask about an opening

This goes to Little People's Learning Tree and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.

We email you a copy, and tell you honestly whether it reached them. Texas HHSC has no email address on file for about two programs in five, and for those the phone number above is the faster route.

Tell me about new inspections

One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.

We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.

State inspection record

HHSC records 28 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on September 29, 2026, and 25 citations.

212426
visitsvisits where something was found28 recorded visits since October 2017. More visits does not mean a worse program: how often the state comes depends on the license type, the program's age and whether anyone complained.
  • 7High
  • 9Medium High
  • 5Medium
  • 3Medium Low
  • 1Low

Every citation below records a correction.

Citations

Showing all 25. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.

  1. High August 11, 2026 Correction verified September 29, 2026

    746.1205(a)(2): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know number of children responsible for

    It was revealed that when transitioning from one vehicle to the next, the bus driver did not check the transportation checklist to ensure that all children were accounted for during the transfer.
  2. High July 15, 2026 Correction verified July 29, 2026

    746.605(7): Required Admission Information - Release Information

    A child's file was reviewed and found to be missing information about who else is allowed to pick up the child.
  3. Medium July 15, 2026 Correction verified August 21, 2026

    746.1311(e): Director Annual Training - Additional required topics

    CCR reviewed the director's training and found the following required trainings were missing: Emergency preparedness. Controlling the spread of communicable diseases. Administering medication. Food allergies. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials.
  4. Low July 15, 2026 Correction verified August 19, 2026

    746.1329(c)(1)(B): Documentation pediatric CPR-1st aid includes renewal date and expiration date

    The infant caregiver did not have an official copy of the CPR and First Aid certificate showing the expiration date.
  5. High April 10, 2026 Correction verified April 28, 2026

    746.5101(a): Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

    The operation does not have an updated fire inspection; the last fire inspection was on 01/31/2025.
  6. Medium April 8, 2026 Correction verified May 11, 2026

    746.605(14): Required Admission Information - Special School-age Permissions

    CCR reviewed a child?s file and found that the section indicating which school the child attends was left blank.
  7. Medium High July 21, 2025 Correction verified September 15, 2025

    746.4907(a)(1): Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less

    The loose fill on the playgrounds is less than six inches.
  8. High December 2, 2024 Correction verified January 13, 2025

    746.2805(3): Prohibited Punishments - Grabbing and Pulling

    The caregiver was seen grabbing and pulling a child by the arm.
  9. High December 2, 2024 Correction verified January 13, 2025

    746.305(a)(6): Report Situation Placing Children at Risk

    The operation reported the incident more than two days after the incident.
  10. Medium High July 31, 2024 Correction verified July 31, 2024

    746.3403: Documentation of Annual Sanitation Inspection

    During the inspection the operation was not able to provide documentation of the health inspection conducted.
  11. Medium Low January 23, 2024 Correction verified January 29, 2024

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.
  12. High August 1, 2023 Correction verified August 9, 2023

    746.5101(a): Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

    The operation was found to not have a current fire inspection.
  13. High June 23, 2023 Correction verified July 7, 2023

    746.2401(7): Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised

    During the walkthrough I observed a classroom with 7 infants ages 6m, 7m, 8m 11m,12m,14m and 17 months left unsupervised. This was corrected when the caregiver returned to the classroom.
  14. Medium June 23, 2023 Correction verified July 7, 2023

    746.1613(a): Reduction of child/caregiver naptime ratio by 50% allowed, If 13 or more children in care, children are 18 mo. or older and other standards met

    During the inspection I oberved one caregiver caring for 7 infants engaged in naptime with a SAG of 0-11 months. Ratio is 1:4. The caregiver was over ratio by 3. This was corrected when the diirector sent in another teacher in the classroom.
  15. Medium December 16, 2022 Corrected at inspection

    746.4503(a): Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age

    Three nap mats were torn. One child was sleeping on a work-out mat. This was corrected at inspection when the maps were replaced.
  16. Medium High December 16, 2022 Corrected at inspection

    746.1601: Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children

    There was one caregiver with 19 two and three year olds during lunch time. The specified age group of the children was 3 years old. This was corrected at inspection when the director joined the room.
  17. Medium High December 16, 2022 Correction verified December 29, 2022

    746.1605: Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

    A child in the infant room was 21 months older than the youngest child.
  18. Medium High December 16, 2022 Corrected at inspection

    746.1203(3): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know Children's Names and Ages

    A caregiver did not know the ages of the children in care and did not have a list of names and ages posted. This was corrected at inspection when the caregiver wrote and posted the children's ages on their name cards.
  19. Medium High December 16, 2022 Corrected at inspection

    746.3701(1): Safety - Electrical Outlets Covered

    Two outlets were uncovered in the nap room. This was corrected at inspection when they covered the outlets.
  20. Medium High December 8, 2022 Correction verified December 29, 2022

    746.3505(c): Diapering Procedures - Use Disposable Gloves

    A caregiver did not wash hands after disposing of gloves during diapering procedures.
  21. Medium High December 8, 2022 Correction verified December 29, 2022

    746.3407: Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment

    A small nail was sticking out of the wall in the 2 year old room. There was a hole in the floor in the nap room.
  22. Medium High August 2, 2022 Corrected at inspection

    746.5305: Mounting of Fire Extinguishers

    The fire extinguisher in the infant room was located on top of a counter and not mounted. NOTE: The deficiency was corrected at inspection.
  23. Medium Low February 25, 2022 Correction verified February 25, 2022

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required
  24. Medium Low November 10, 2021 Corrected at inspection

    746.501(b)(1): Operational Policies - Inform Parents That They May Visit Center Anytime During Operating Hours

    The operational policies did not inform the parents they are able to visit the center without prior approval.
  25. Medium November 10, 2021 Correction verified November 11, 2021

    746.2421(b): Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days

    During review of infants the operation did not have curret feeding instructions for an infant not yet eating table food.
Do you have a child enrolled here?

If Little People's Learning Tree confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.

There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.

About this record

Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.

Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.