La Petite Academy
Licensed Center in Houston, Texas. License #133307- 684, issued October 13, 1986.
- Address
- 1810 W 18th St, Houston, TX 77008
- Phone
- (713) 862-8092
- Licensed capacity
- 102 children
- Licensed for
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- 06:30 AM-06:30 PM
- Days
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
- Child care subsidies
- Accepted
Programs listed with the state: Meals Provided, Snacks Provided, Part Time Care, Field Trips.
The state records conditions on this permit . What these mean.
Openings
This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.
Texas Rising Star
No Texas Rising Star rating
Texas Rising Star is voluntary, and a program joins it by applying. It is tied to accepting child care scholarships, so most programs that are not in it never applied rather than failed. Roughly three in five licensed programs in Texas have no rating.
This says nothing about the quality of this program. What the state has assessed about it is the inspection record below.
Where this is
A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.
The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.
What inspectors checked
Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 4,166 standards at La Petite Academy between November 16, 2021 and May 26, 2026 and recorded 31 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.
The 22 areas, one by one
| Area of the rules | Visits | Standards checked | Violated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scope, administration, and communication | 3 | 357 | 1 |
| Record keeping | 3 | 326 | 5 |
| Personnel | 3 | 435 | 0 |
| Ratios and group sizes | 3 | 162 | 1 |
| Activities | 3 | 104 | 0 |
| Infants | 4 | 354 | 1 |
| Toddlers | 3 | 66 | 0 |
| Pre-kindergarten | 3 | 55 | 0 |
| School-age | 3 | 60 | 0 |
| Discipline | 3 | 60 | 0 |
| Naptime | 3 | 36 | 0 |
| Field trips | 3 | 33 | 0 |
| Get well care | 3 | 81 | 0 |
| Nighttime care | 3 | 39 | 0 |
| Nutrition and food care | 4 | 179 | 0 |
| Health practices | 4 | 451 | 1 |
| Safety practices | 4 | 298 | 0 |
| Physical facilities | 3 | 224 | 0 |
| Outdoor safety | 3 | 288 | 1 |
| Pools | 4 | 108 | 0 |
| Fire safety | 4 | 271 | 2 |
| Transportation | 3 | 132 | 0 |
The table adds up to 4,119 of those standards. The remaining 47, including 19 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.
A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.
Ask about an opening
This goes to La Petite Academy and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.
Tell me about new inspections
One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.
We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.
State inspection record
HHSC records 22 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on May 26, 2026, and 31 citations.
One of those visits began with La Petite Academy reporting something to the state itself rather than HHSC finding it. We publish that because it is part of the record and the state records it separately, not because it is good or bad: a program with none may have had nothing to report. 3,674 of the 12,933 programs listed here have at least one.
- 3High
- 14Medium High
- 10Medium
- 3Medium Low
- 1Low
Every citation below records a correction.
Citations
Showing the 25 most recent of 31. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.
- Medium High May 26, 2026 Correction verified June 9, 2026
746.5205(1): Fire Drill Monthly - Exit in 3 Minutes
CCR reviewed the operation's fire drill practices and found that the fire drills were not completed within three minutes for the months of March, April, and May.
- Medium May 26, 2026 Correction verified June 8, 2026
746.801(12): Required Records Maintained and Made Available - Sanitation Inspection Report
The operation's current health inspection report was not available during the inspection.
- Medium High May 26, 2026 Correction verified June 25, 2026
746.4907(a)(1): Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less
The operation has three playground equipment that does not meet the required six inches of loose fill.
- Medium High January 23, 2026 Correction verified February 5, 2026
746.303(a)(4): Report Change in Director
The operation failed to report to licesning a change in director.
- Medium High January 23, 2026 Correction verified February 5, 2026
746.1601: Child/ Caregiver Ratio - 13 or More Children
During the inspection I observed one caregiver caring for 17 children with a specified age group of 2 years. Raito is 1:11, the caregiver was over ratio by 6.
- Medium Low January 22, 2026 Correction verified January 23, 2026
746.303(b): Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
- Low May 30, 2025 Correction verified June 9, 2025
746.611(a)(1): Required Health Statement - Written, dated within past year, indicates child is physically able to participate in operation's child-care program
During the inspection it was found 4 out of 7 child records did not have a health statement on file.
- Medium Low January 21, 2025 Correction verified January 23, 2024
746.303(b): Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
- Medium High January 3, 2025 Correction verified March 20, 2025
746.3301(d): Nutrition and Food Service - Child must not go more than 3 hours
A child went over more than 3 hours without eating while in care at the operation.
- Medium January 3, 2025 Correction verified March 20, 2025
746.3309(a)(1): Parent Provided Meals/Snacks - Parent Choice
The operation does not have a written agreement in regard to the parent providing snacks for their child while in care.
- Medium June 11, 2024 Correction verified June 14, 2024
746.901(5): Required Personnel Records- Training Hours
I was able to see four out of the five caregiver training. One caregiver is still missing the training documentation.
- Medium High May 31, 2024 Correction verified June 11, 2024
746.1605(1): Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age
In the toddler classroom they was a child that was 17 months old the oldest child in the class was 3 years old, which is more then 18 months older then the youngest child.
- Medium May 31, 2024 Correction verified June 11, 2024
746.2421(b): Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days
Six infants did not have an updated feeding instruction form.
- Medium May 31, 2024 Correction verified June 11, 2024
746.603(a)(4): Children's Records - Immunizations
One child is missing immunization recrods.
- Medium May 31, 2024 Correction verified July 17, 2024
746.501(a)(22): Written Operational Policies Procedures for Parent Review Licensing Reports & How to Access Rules
In the operational policies the operation did not have how parents could find the most recent inspection report or how the parent could contact the local licensing office.
- Medium May 31, 2024 Correction verified June 11, 2024
746.901(5): Required Personnel Records- Training Hours
They was not documentation for training hours for the director or five caregivers.
- High May 31, 2024 Correction verified July 3, 2024
746.5101(a): Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months
The operation did not have an updated fire inspection report.
- Medium High May 31, 2024 Correction verified June 11, 2024
746.3415(7): Employee Handwashing After Handling or Cleaning Bodily Fluids
A caregiver did not wash their hands after cleaning a child's nose.
- Medium High June 8, 2023 Correction verified June 26, 2023
746.3407: Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment
In the pre-K classroom they was paint coming off the wall and in the pre-school classroom board coming off the wall.
- Medium High March 29, 2023 Correction verified April 11, 2023
746.3819: Food Allergy Emergency Plan Signed by Parents and Health Care Professional
One of the children were observed to have allergies and did not have a food allergy plan.
- Medium High March 29, 2023 Correction verified April 12, 2023
746.5202(1): Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures
The emergency preparedness plan is missing how children 24 months and with limited mobility, will be evacuated out of the operation.
- Medium March 29, 2023 Correction verified April 6, 2023
746.4503(b): Cots, Beds, Mats Labeled With Child's Name
The cots in the toddler classroom were not labeled.
- Medium High March 29, 2023 Corrected at inspection
746.2407: Infant Care Area Furnishings and Equipment -Use of Safety Straps
Two infants were observed without safety straps in highchairs. Corrected: When the caregiver fastened the safety straps.
- Medium High March 29, 2023 Correction verified April 27, 2023
746.3401(a): Annual Sanitation Inspection
It was observed the operation did not have the most updated sanitation inspection. The last inspection was 2/22/2022.
- Medium High March 29, 2023 Correction verified April 6, 2023
746.5205(1): Fire Drill Monthly - Exit in 3 Minutes
The operation did not conduct a fire drill the month of February.
Do you have a child enrolled here?
If La Petite Academy confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.
There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.
About this record
Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.
Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.