ChildCareTX

International School of San Antonio

Licensed Center in San Antonio, Texas. License #1725315, issued December 17, 2021.

Address
6739 Callaghan Rd, San Antonio, TX 78229
Phone
(210) 920-4315
Licensed capacity
73 children
Licensed for
Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
07:00 AM-06:00 PM
Days
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Child care subsidies
Not accepted
Website
issatx.com

Programs listed with the state: School Age Care, Before School Care, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Skill Classes, Part Time Care, Field Trips.

Openings

This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.

Texas Rising Star

No Texas Rising Star rating

Texas Rising Star is voluntary, and a program joins it by applying. It is tied to accepting child care scholarships, so most programs that are not in it never applied rather than failed. Roughly three in five licensed programs in Texas have no rating.

This says nothing about the quality of this program. What the state has assessed about it is the inspection record below.

Where this is

A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.

Open in OpenStreetMap

The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.

What inspectors checked

Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 4,332 standards at International School of San Antonio between December 8, 2021 and May 18, 2026 and recorded 17 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.

The 22 areas, one by one
Area of the rulesVisitsStandards checkedViolated
Scope, administration, and communication44742
Record keeping44355
Personnel45710
Ratios and group sizes52700
Activities41360
Infants43540
Toddlers4880
Pre-kindergarten4740
School-age3600
Discipline4800
Naptime3360
Field trips4440
Get well care2540
Nighttime care2260
Nutrition and food care2890
Health practices33380
Safety practices32200
Physical facilities32240
Outdoor safety32881
Pools41080
Fire safety32031
Transportation31320

The table adds up to 4,304 of those standards. The remaining 28, including 8 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.

A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.

What International School of San Antonio says about itself

The International School of San Antonio (ISSA) provides language immersion education in French and Mandarin Chinese for children 2-12 years old. With a holistic curriculum, licensed childcare, and education in one place, ISSA makes it easy for parents to invest in their child's international education.

Quoted from issatx.org, read on October 25, 2026. These are the program's own words, not ours, and we neither check nor endorse them.

Ask about an opening

This goes to International School of San Antonio and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.

We email you a copy, and tell you honestly whether it reached them. Texas HHSC has no email address on file for about two programs in five, and for those the phone number above is the faster route.

Tell me about new inspections

One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.

We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.

State inspection record

HHSC records 18 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on May 18, 2026, and 17 citations.

3 of those visits began with International School of San Antonio reporting something to the state itself rather than HHSC finding it. We publish that because it is part of the record and the state records it separately, not because it is good or bad: a program with none may have had nothing to report. 3,674 of the 12,933 programs listed here have at least one.

212426
visitsvisits where something was found18 recorded visits since October 2017. More visits does not mean a worse program: how often the state comes depends on the license type, the program's age and whether anyone complained.
  • 5High
  • 6Medium High
  • 4Medium
  • 2Medium Low

Every citation below records a correction.

Citations

Showing all 17. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.

  1. Medium High May 18, 2026 Correction verified May 31, 2026

    746.4907(a)(1): Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less

    The loose-fill on the playground is not installed to the required depth of six inches under and around the playground structure.
  2. Medium October 10, 2024 Correction verified October 15, 2024

    746.603(a): Children's Records Maintained

    One of the six children files was unavailable for review. One of the six children was missing the immunization records.
  3. Medium High October 10, 2024 Correction verified October 15, 2024

    746.5307(b): Fire Extinguishers Serviced

    Four of the fire extinguishers were last serviced on 8.2023.
  4. High March 21, 2024 Correction verified April 1, 2024

    746.1205(a)(2): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Know number of children responsible for

    The teacher in the PreK Spanish classroom stated there were 10 children in care when there were actually 11 children in care.
  5. High March 19, 2024 Correction verified April 1, 2024

    746.1205(a)(4): Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity

    It was determined based on the interviews conducted and information gathered that an incident had occurred when a three-year child was left in the classroom unsupervised.
  6. Medium High October 20, 2023 Correction verified October 26, 2023

    746.5202(1): Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures

    The emergency preparedness plan did not specify the designated location or address of this location. Included the emergency evacuation route and relocation diagram.
  7. Medium October 20, 2023 Correction verified October 24, 2023

    746.3809: Medication No Longer Used

    An allergy medication stored in the office was observed to have expired 10/2021.
  8. Medium High October 20, 2023 Correction verified October 24, 2023

    746.3701(5): Safety - Play Materials and Equipment Safe

    On the Preschool playground four CVC white pipes were observed unattached.
  9. Medium Low December 1, 2022 Correction verified December 5, 2022

    746.901(4): Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit

    One of the six staff didn't have an affidavit available for review.
  10. Medium December 1, 2022 Correction verified December 5, 2022

    746.4503(a): Individual Cot, Bed, or Mat for Each Walking Child Through 4 Years of Age

    Two mats were observed torn exposing the cotton.
  11. Medium High December 1, 2022 Correction verified December 5, 2022

    746.605(6): Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact

    Six of the six children files didn't have emergency contact addresses. One of the six children files didn't have release information. One of the six children files didn't have healthcare authorization information. Two of the six children files didn't have food allergy information.
  12. High September 12, 2022 Correction verified September 27, 2022

    746.1203(4): Responsibilities of Caregivers - Supervision of Children

    During the course of the investigation supervision was determined to have occurred after a four-year child walked out of the front of the building of the operation unsupervised. The child was brought in by a staff member into the building after 1 minute 30 seconds.
  13. Medium High January 28, 2022 Correction verified February 2, 2022

    746.305(a)(4): Report Outbreak of Communicable Illness

    Based upon information gathered and interviews conducted Licensing nor the Health Department were notified within 48 hours by the operation.
  14. Medium Low December 8, 2021 Corrected at inspection

    746.401(8): Posting Requirements - Telephone Numbers

    Emergency Telephone Numbers was not available for review. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when Form 7243 was provided, filled out and posted.
  15. Medium December 8, 2021 Corrected at inspection

    746.501(a)(5): Written Operational Policies - Emergencies

    The operational policy did not specify procedures for handling medical emergencies. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when procedures were added to the Operational policy.
  16. High December 8, 2021 Correction verified December 13, 2021

    746.605(12): Required Admission Information - Emergency Medical Authorization

    Two of the six children files did not have Emergency authorization information available.
  17. High December 8, 2021 Corrected at inspection

    746.901(7): Required Personnel Records-Proof of DFPS background checks

    One of the six staff files did not have a background check verification available. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection when the eligibility letter was provided and filed.
Do you have a child enrolled here?

If International School of San Antonio confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.

There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.

About this record

Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.

Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.