ChildCareTX

Hemphill Scholars

Licensed Center in Hemphill, Texas. License #1693839, issued June 11, 2020.

Address
730 Sabine St, Hemphill, TX 75948
Phone
(936) 201-1288
Licensed capacity
85 children
Licensed for
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
07:00 AM-05:30 PM
Days
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Child care subsidies
Accepted
Website
hemphillscholars.com

Programs listed with the state: School Age Care, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Part Time Care.

Openings

This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.

Texas Rising Star

Texas Rising Star 2-star of a possible 4

A quality rating the state awards after an on-site assessment. Four stars is the highest.

In effect since June 13, 2025. From the state's provider report of April 2, 2026.

Where this is

A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.

Open in OpenStreetMap

The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.

What inspectors checked

Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,172 standards at Hemphill Scholars between November 30, 2021 and January 23, 2026 and recorded 4 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.

The 22 areas, one by one
Area of the rulesVisitsStandards checkedViolated
Scope, administration, and communication22420
Record keeping33260
Personnel34350
Ratios and group sizes21080
Activities2720
Infants21800
Toddlers3660
Pre-kindergarten3550
School-age3600
Discipline2400
Naptime3360
Field trips2220
Get well care2540
Nighttime care2260
Nutrition and food care2900
Health practices33380
Safety practices21540
Physical facilities21500
Outdoor safety32880
Pools3780
Fire safety32030
Transportation31320

The table adds up to 3,155 of those standards. The remaining 17, including 4 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.

A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.

Ask about an opening

This goes to Hemphill Scholars and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.

We email you a copy, and tell you honestly whether it reached them. Texas HHSC has no email address on file for about two programs in five, and for those the phone number above is the faster route.

Tell me about new inspections

One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.

We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.

State inspection record

HHSC records 14 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on January 23, 2026, and 4 citations.

One of those visits began with Hemphill Scholars reporting something to the state itself rather than HHSC finding it. We publish that because it is part of the record and the state records it separately, not because it is good or bad: a program with none may have had nothing to report. 3,674 of the 12,933 programs listed here have at least one.

212426
visitsvisits where something was found14 recorded visits since October 2017. More visits does not mean a worse program: how often the state comes depends on the license type, the program's age and whether anyone complained.
  • 1High
  • 3Medium Low

Every citation below records a correction.

Citations

Showing all 4. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.

  1. Medium Low January 23, 2026 Correction verified February 3, 2026

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    The operation did not report via online provider account the number of employees who ceased working at the operation during the previous calendar year by January 15th, 2026 as required.
  2. Medium Low January 24, 2025 Correction verified January 27, 2025

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A Review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 22, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
  3. High August 29, 2022 Correction verified September 9, 2022

    746.2401(7): Basic Requirements for Infants - Never Unsupervised

    An infant was left unsupervised for approximately 10 minutes.
  4. Medium Low March 2, 2022 Correction verified March 4, 2022

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22nd, 2022, as required.
Do you have a child enrolled here?

If Hemphill Scholars confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.

There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.

About this record

Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.

Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.