ChildCareTX

Good Samaritan Center

Licensed Center in San Antonio, Texas. License #31441, issued November 7, 1985.

Address
1600 Saltillo St, San Antonio, TX 78207
Phone
(210) 434-5531
Licensed capacity
95 children
Licensed for
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
07:30 AM-05:30 PM
Days
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Child care subsidies
Accepted
Website
goodsamtx.org

Programs listed with the state: Snacks Provided, Part Time Care.

Openings

This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.

Texas Rising Star

Texas Rising Star 4-star of a possible 4

A quality rating the state awards after an on-site assessment. Four stars is the highest.

In effect since October 6, 2025. From the state's provider report of March 30, 2026.

Where this is

A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.

Open in OpenStreetMap

The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.

What inspectors checked

Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,007 standards at Good Samaritan Center between August 15, 2022 and August 20, 2026 and recorded 14 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.

The 22 areas, one by one
Area of the rulesVisitsStandards checkedViolated
Scope, administration, and communication33571
Record keeping22251
Personnel23130
Ratios and group sizes21080
Activities2720
Infants21800
Toddlers2440
Pre-kindergarten2360
School-age3600
Discipline3600
Naptime2240
Field trips3330
Get well care3810
Nighttime care3390
Nutrition and food care2900
Health practices33380
Safety practices21540
Physical facilities21500
Outdoor safety21920
Pools3780
Fire safety32033
Transportation31320

The table adds up to 2,969 of those standards. The remaining 38, including 9 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.

A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.

Ask about an opening

This goes to Good Samaritan Center and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.

We email you a copy, and tell you honestly whether it reached them. Texas HHSC has no email address on file for about two programs in five, and for those the phone number above is the faster route.

Tell me about new inspections

One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.

We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.

State inspection record

HHSC records 18 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on August 20, 2026, and 14 citations.

3 of those visits began with Good Samaritan Center reporting something to the state itself rather than HHSC finding it. We publish that because it is part of the record and the state records it separately, not because it is good or bad: a program with none may have had nothing to report. 3,674 of the 12,933 programs listed here have at least one.

222526
visitsvisits where something was found18 recorded visits since October 2017. More visits does not mean a worse program: how often the state comes depends on the license type, the program's age and whether anyone complained.
  • 3High
  • 8Medium High
  • 3Medium

Every citation below records a correction.

Citations

Showing all 14. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.

  1. High August 12, 2026 Correction verified August 20, 2026

    746.2401(6): Basic Requirements for Infants - Free from Choking Objects That May Cause Choking in Infants or Toddlers

    An infant younger than twelve months old had a clip on pacifier on in the crib. *The pacifier was removed*
  2. High August 10, 2026 Correction verified August 20, 2026

    746.1205(a)(4): Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity

    During the investigation process it was determined a 20 month old child was left unsupervised during a transition back into the classroom.
  3. Medium High May 1, 2026 Correction verified May 8, 2026

    746.1605(1): Child/Caregiver Ratio - 18 Months Difference in Age

    At time of inspection one infant was observed to be in class with children 18 months older than the youngest. This was corrected at inspection when the 15 month old was placed in the infant's classroom.
  4. Medium High May 5, 2025 Correction verified May 13, 2025

    746.3505(e): Diapering Procedures - Sanitizing Diaper Changing Area

    In the infant classroom the changing table wasn't observed sanitized before changing another child. NOTE: This was correct at inspection.
  5. Medium High May 5, 2025 Correction verified May 13, 2025

    746.3417(3): Children Handwashing After Toileting or Diapering

    In the infant classroom a child's hands weren't washed after a diaper change. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection.
  6. Medium High May 5, 2025 Corrected at inspection

    746.605(12): Required Admission Information - Special Needs Statement

    Five of the ten child files were missing special care information on the child enrollment form. One of the ten child files was missing release information. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection.
  7. Medium June 24, 2024 Corrected at inspection

    746.4135(b): Children's Products- Annual Certification

    The annual consume product form was last reviewed on 6.6.23. NOTE: This was corrected at inspection.
  8. Medium High June 24, 2024 Correction verified June 26, 2024

    746.5205(2): Sheltering Drill For Severe Weather-Four times a calendar year

    No documentation at the time of inspection for sheltering/severe weather drill.
  9. Medium High June 24, 2024 Correction verified June 26, 2024

    746.613(b): Immunization Records, Exceptions, and Exemptions Current

    One of the ten children records didn't have an updated immunization record.
  10. Medium August 15, 2022 Correction verified August 17, 2022

    746.603(a)(4): Children's Records - Immunizations

    One of the eight children did not have a current immunization record available.
  11. Medium August 15, 2022 Correction verified August 23, 2022

    746.501(a)(18): Written Operational Policies - Promotion of Physical Activity

    The operational policy did not specify the Benefits of physical activity Duration of physical activity for all ages Types of structured/unstructured activities Each setting that physical activity takes place Recommended clothing and footwear and Plans to continue physical activity when weather permits In addition to the Licensing website and intake number.
  12. High August 15, 2022 Correction verified August 18, 2022

    746.5101(a): Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

    Last fire inspection was conducted on 8.12.22
  13. Medium High August 15, 2022 Correction verified August 23, 2022

    746.5202(4): Emergency Preparedness Plan-Continuity of Care Until Children Released

    The emergency preparedness plan did not specify procedures for continuing care and relocation diagram.
  14. Medium High August 15, 2022 Correction verified August 17, 2022

    746.3701(7): Safety - Hinged Lid Storage Containers Safe

    Two brown storage bins on the PreK playground were not equipped with ventilation holes.
Do you have a child enrolled here?

If Good Samaritan Center confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.

There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.

About this record

Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.

Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.