ChildCareTX

First Foundation Childcare - Preschool

Licensed Center in Sugar Land, Texas. License #1668854, issued August 10, 2018.

Address
4888 Highway 90a Ste 500, Sugar Land, TX 77498
Phone
(281) 242-2256
Licensed capacity
80 children
Licensed for
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
06:30 AM-06:00 PM
Days
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Child care subsidies
Accepted

Programs listed with the state: School Age Care, Before School Care, Get Well Care, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Drop-In Care, Part Time Care.

The state records conditions on this permit . What these mean.

Openings

This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.

Texas Rising Star

Texas Rising Star 3-star of a possible 4

A quality rating the state awards after an on-site assessment. Four stars is the highest.

In effect since May 9, 2025. From the state's provider report of May 12, 2026.

What inspectors checked

Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,016 standards at First Foundation Childcare - Preschool between March 3, 2022 and September 8, 2026 and recorded 21 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.

The 22 areas, one by one
Area of the rulesVisitsStandards checkedViolated
Scope, administration, and communication22421
Record keeping22254
Personnel23131
Ratios and group sizes21080
Activities31040
Infants21770
Toddlers3660
Pre-kindergarten2360
School-age3600
Discipline3600
Naptime3360
Field trips3330
Get well care2540
Nighttime care2260
Nutrition and food care31340
Health practices33392
Safety practices21541
Physical facilities32240
Outdoor safety32883
Pools2540
Fire safety21352
Transportation31320

The table adds up to 3,000 of those standards. The remaining 16, including 7 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.

A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.

Ask about an opening

This goes to First Foundation Childcare - Preschool and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.

We email you a copy, and tell you honestly whether it reached them. Texas HHSC has no email address on file for about two programs in five, and for those the phone number above is the faster route.

Tell me about new inspections

One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.

We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.

State inspection record

HHSC records 10 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on September 8, 2026, and 21 citations.

222526
visitsvisits where something was found10 recorded visits since October 2017. More visits does not mean a worse program: how often the state comes depends on the license type, the program's age and whether anyone complained.
  • 3High
  • 12Medium High
  • 3Medium
  • 2Medium Low
  • 1Low

Every citation below records a correction.

Citations

Showing all 21. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.

  1. Medium High September 8, 2026 Correction verified September 9, 2026

    746.3401(a): Annual Sanitation Inspection

    The operation does not have an updated sanitation inspection, the last inspection was conducted on 8-21-2025.
  2. Medium August 6, 2026 Correction verified September 8, 2026

    746.4803: Measurement of Use Zone for Stationary Equipment

    The operation had a stationary equipment required surfacing.
  3. Medium High August 6, 2026 Correction verified September 8, 2026

    746.3407: Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment

    The operation had high grass on the playground and grass in the mulch area of the playground.
  4. Medium High August 26, 2025 Corrected at inspection

    746.5307(a): Inspect Fire Extinguishers Monthly

    The operation did not have documentation for checking the fire extinguisher monthly. Corrected: When staff member check fire extinguisher and documentation the check.
  5. Low August 26, 2025 Correction verified September 3, 2025

    746.603(a)(6): Children's Records - Vision and Hearing Screening

    One child that are four years old did not have a hearing and vision screening on file.
  6. Medium High August 26, 2025 Correction verified September 16, 2025

    746.5202(1): Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures

    The operation did not have an emergency preparedness plan, the operation had minimum standards in place for a emergency preparedness plan.
  7. Medium High August 26, 2025 Correction verified September 3, 2025

    746.605(6): Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact

    One child had a parent for an emergency contact and another child did not have an address for the emergency contact.
  8. Medium High August 26, 2025 Corrected at inspection

    746.4805(a): Measurement of Use Zone for Slides - in Front of Access and on Sides

    The operation did not have the 6ft of use zone in front of the slide, it was a play structure in front of it only leaving a use zone of 4ft and 6 in. Corrected: When the play structure was moved out of the way.
  9. High August 26, 2025 Correction verified September 16, 2025

    746.201(1): Policies Comply with Rules

    The operation is missing area 9, 12, 18, 20, 26 and 30 in the operational policy.
  10. Medium August 26, 2025 Correction verified September 3, 2025

    746.603(a)(3): Children's Records - Health Statement

    One child that has been enrolled for a year did not have a health statement on file.
  11. Medium High August 26, 2025 Correction verified September 3, 2025

    746.605(15): Required Admission Information-Child's allergies and Completed Food Allergy Plan

    One child with a food allergy listed on the enrollment form did not have a food allergy plan on file.
  12. Medium Low January 21, 2025 Correction verified January 23, 2025

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
  13. Medium High September 3, 2024 Correction verified September 16, 2024

    746.4907(a)(1): Installation and Maintenance of Loose-fill Surfacing - Six Inches if Equipment 5 Ft or Less

    The playground area does not have proper depth of mulch maintained throughout the area.
  14. Medium September 3, 2024 Correction verified September 9, 2024

    746.501(a)(20): Written Operational Policies - Parent Rights

    The operation has not provided parents with a copy of the parent's rights form 2987 as required.
  15. Medium High October 10, 2023 Correction verified October 23, 2023

    746.4901(a): Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing

    Playground area was observed to have incorrect surfacing for their play structure. Mulch for plants was observed to be used as loose fill surfacing.
  16. Medium High September 20, 2023 Correction verified October 10, 2023

    746.3701: Safety - Areas Free From Hazards

    A ladder was observed leaning against the wall in the children's outdoor play area.
  17. Medium High September 20, 2023 Correction verified October 10, 2023

    746.4901(a): Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing

    There was no unitary surfacing observed under the active play structure on the playground.
  18. Medium High September 20, 2023 Correction verified October 10, 2023

    746.1315(b)(1): CPR Training and Recertification Adhere to Guidelines-skill based

    All of the caregiver files reviewed did not have hands-on CPR and First Aid training.
  19. High September 20, 2023 Correction verified October 10, 2023

    746.3407(12): Mark Cleaning Supplies, Toxic Materials; Keep Separate from Food and Inaccessible to Children

    Diaper rash cream was observed to be in an unlocked cabinet within children's reach.
  20. High September 20, 2022 Correction verified September 29, 2022

    746.5101(a): Annual Fire Inspection - Before Initial Permit Issued and Every 12 Months

    The operation did not have an updated fire inspection.
  21. Medium Low March 3, 2022 Correction verified March 3, 2022

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required.
Do you have a child enrolled here?

If First Foundation Childcare - Preschool confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.

There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.

About this record

Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.

Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.