Bright Stars Academy
Licensed Center in Houston, Texas. License #854203, issued March 22, 2006.
- Address
- 712 E Tidwell Rd Ste J, Houston, TX 77022
- Phone
- (713) 695-8994
- Licensed capacity
- 78 children
- Licensed for
- Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
- Hours
- 06:00 AM-06:00 PM
- Days
- Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
- Child care subsidies
- Accepted
Programs listed with the state: School Age Care, Before School Care, Accredited, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Part Time Care, Transportation to/from School, Field Trips.
The state records conditions on this permit . What these mean.
Openings
This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.
Texas Rising Star
Texas Rising Star 3-star of a possible 4
A quality rating the state awards after an on-site assessment. Four stars is the highest.
In effect since July 7, 2025. From the state's provider report of April 10, 2026.
Where this is
A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.
The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.
What inspectors checked
Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,400 standards at Bright Stars Academy between August 10, 2022 and August 14, 2026 and recorded 10 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.
The 22 areas, one by one
| Area of the rules | Visits | Standards checked | Violated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Scope, administration, and communication | 3 | 357 | 0 |
| Record keeping | 3 | 326 | 1 |
| Personnel | 3 | 435 | 5 |
| Ratios and group sizes | 2 | 108 | 0 |
| Activities | 2 | 72 | 0 |
| Infants | 2 | 180 | 0 |
| Toddlers | 2 | 44 | 0 |
| Pre-kindergarten | 2 | 38 | 0 |
| School-age | 2 | 40 | 0 |
| Discipline | 2 | 40 | 0 |
| Naptime | 2 | 24 | 0 |
| Field trips | 2 | 22 | 0 |
| Get well care | 2 | 54 | 0 |
| Nighttime care | 2 | 26 | 0 |
| Nutrition and food care | 3 | 134 | 0 |
| Health practices | 3 | 338 | 1 |
| Safety practices | 3 | 220 | 0 |
| Physical facilities | 3 | 224 | 0 |
| Outdoor safety | 3 | 288 | 0 |
| Pools | 3 | 78 | 0 |
| Fire safety | 3 | 203 | 0 |
| Transportation | 3 | 132 | 0 |
The table adds up to 3,383 of those standards. The remaining 17, including 3 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.
A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.
Ask about an opening
This goes to Bright Stars Academy and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.
Tell me about new inspections
One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.
We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.
State inspection record
HHSC records 13 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on August 14, 2026, and 10 citations.
- 2High
- 4Medium High
- 2Medium
- 2Medium Low
Every citation below records a correction.
Citations
Showing all 10. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.
- Medium High July 17, 2026 Correction verified July 21, 2026
746.605(6): Required Admission Information - Emergency Contact
Four of the reviewed children files did not have a completed emergency contact address.
- Medium High July 17, 2026 Correction verified August 1, 2026
746.1315(b): Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric CPR
A caregiver had a CPR certificate that expired on 5.2026. Two caregivers did not have a current CPR certificate.
- High July 17, 2026 Correction verified August 14, 2026
746.1205(a)(4): Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
A classroom was left unsupervised when the sole caregiver in the classroom left the classroom to open the door of the operation and to transfer a child to another classroom. Another classroom was left unsupervised when the caregiver left the classroom to retrieve a sign in sheet log.
- Medium High July 17, 2026 Correction verified July 21, 2026
746.3407: Maintenance of Building, Grounds and Equipment
A pole on a table in the outdoor play area was cracked with a hole. The padding in the outdoor play area was torn with exposed padding.
- Medium Low January 21, 2025 Correction verified January 23, 2025
746.303(b): Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2024 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
- Medium July 24, 2024 Correction verified August 2, 2024
746.1309(e): Documented Annual Training- Required Content
The infant caregiver annual training for the month of 9/21/22-09/21/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Administering medication. The after-school caregiver annual training for the months of 9/7/22-9/7/23 is missing the following required training. Understanding building and physical premises safety Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous materials. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.
- Medium July 24, 2024 Correction verified August 2, 2024
746.1311(e): Director Annual Training - Additional required topics
The director's annual training for the month of 0ct 2022-Oct 2023 is missing the following required training. Handling, storing, and disposing of hazardous. Understanding building and physical premises safety. Administering medication. Make-up training will not count towards the current training year.
- Medium High July 24, 2024 Correction verified August 2, 2024
746.1315(a): Each Caregiver and the Director Must Have Current Training in pediatric first aid with rescue breathing and choking.
The directorand three caregivers are missing their CPR and First-Aid training.
- Medium Low January 19, 2024 Correction verified January 22, 2024
746.303(b): Report Number of Employees
A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2024, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2023 by January 15, 2024, as required.
- High April 3, 2023 Correction verified April 13, 2023
746.1205(a)(4): Supervision ensures each child?s safety, well-being, including physical proximity and auditory or visual awareness of each child?s on going activity
The caregiver walked out the classroom and left five children unattended.
Do you have a child enrolled here?
If Bright Stars Academy confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.
There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.
About this record
Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.
Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.