ChildCareTX

Alpha Academy

Licensed Center in Houston, Texas. License #818659, issued December 11, 2002.

Address
1647 Candytuft Ct, Houston, TX 77038
Phone
(281) 820-3399
Licensed capacity
51 children
Licensed for
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
06:00 AM-06:30 PM
Days
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Child care subsidies
Accepted

Programs listed with the state: School Age Care, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided.

Openings

This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.

Texas Rising Star

Texas Rising Star 3-star of a possible 4

A quality rating the state awards after an on-site assessment. Four stars is the highest.

In effect since September 29, 2025. From the state's provider report of May 22, 2026.

Where this is

A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.

Open in OpenStreetMap

The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.

What inspectors checked

Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 3,085 standards at Alpha Academy between October 7, 2022 and September 30, 2026 and recorded 18 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.

The 22 areas, one by one
Area of the rulesVisitsStandards checkedViolated
Scope, administration, and communication22423
Record keeping22203
Personnel23125
Ratios and group sizes21080
Activities2720
Infants21800
Toddlers2440
Pre-kindergarten2380
School-age3600
Discipline2400
Naptime2240
Field trips2220
Get well care2540
Nighttime care3390
Nutrition and food care31340
Health practices33381
Safety practices32220
Physical facilities32240
Outdoor safety32880
Pools3840
Fire safety32035
Transportation31320

The table adds up to 3,080 of those standards. The remaining 5, including 1 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.

A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.

Ask about an opening

This goes to Alpha Academy and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.

We email you a copy, and tell you honestly whether it reached them. Texas HHSC has no email address on file for about two programs in five, and for those the phone number above is the faster route.

Tell me about new inspections

One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.

We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.

State inspection record

HHSC records 5 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on September 30, 2026, and 18 citations.

222526
visitsvisits where something was found5 recorded visits since October 2017. More visits does not mean a worse program: how often the state comes depends on the license type, the program's age and whether anyone complained.
  • 2High
  • 6Medium High
  • 6Medium
  • 3Medium Low
  • 1Low

Every citation below records a correction.

Citations

Showing all 18. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.

  1. Medium September 30, 2026 Corrected at inspection

    746.5205(4): Documentation of Drills

    The start time of the fire drills is not being documented. This was corrected at inspection.
  2. High September 30, 2026 Corrected at inspection

    746.3407(12): Mark Cleaning Supplies, Toxic Materials; Keep Separate from Food and Inaccessible to Children

    The following was observed: 1. Cleaning supplies that were stored in the cabinet underneath the sink were accessible to the children. 2. Cleaning supplies in the bathroom were stored in a cabinet that was accessible to children. Neither one of the cabinets had a childproof safety latch to prevent children from accessing the cleaning supplies. This was corrected at inspection.
  3. Medium Low October 2, 2025 Corrected at inspection

    746.401(9): Posting Requirements - List entitled "Current Employees"--sized at least 81/2 X 11 inches, printed legibly, include employee first and last name

    The list of current employees did not include all staff that are working at the center, This was corrected at inspection.
  4. Medium High October 2, 2025 Correction verified October 3, 2025

    746.1311(d): Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months

    The director did not one clock hour of training in SIDS, Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma and Understanding Early CHildhood Brain Development for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.
  5. Medium High October 2, 2025 Correction verified November 3, 2025

    746.5202(3): Emergency Preparedness Plan - Essential Documentation

    The emergency preparedness plan does not state how the center will evacuate the building with parent contact information, emergency contact information and emergency medical authorization information for each child.
  6. Medium High October 2, 2025 Correction verified November 8, 2025

    746.5202(2): Emergency Preparedness Plan - Communication Procedures

    The emergency preparedness plan does not include the emergency phone number for the center, does not state how the center will communicate with emergency authorities and CHild Care Regulation.
  7. Medium Low October 2, 2025 Correction verified November 3, 2025

    746.901(5): Required Personnel Records - Required Affidavit (Form 2912)

    Of the six personnel records evaluated, two lacked the pre-employment affidavit.
  8. Medium High October 2, 2025 Correction verified November 8, 2025

    746.5202(4): Emergency Preparedness Plan-Continuity of Care Until Children Released

    The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be cared for during the emergency.
  9. Medium High October 2, 2025 Correction verified November 8, 2025

    746.5202(5): Emergency Preparedness Plan-Reunification Plan

    The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be reunited with their parents once the emergency is over,
  10. Medium October 2, 2025 Correction verified October 3, 2025

    746.1311(e): Director Annual Training - Additional required topics

    The director did not receive training in communicable diseases including immunizations and understanding building and physical premises safety for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.
  11. Medium October 2, 2025 Correction verified November 3, 2025

    746.1309(c): Documented Annual Training - 1 hour in Prevention, Recognition and Reporting of child maltreatment

    Of the six personnel records evaluated, two did not complete training in the recognition of child abuse and neglect for the September 2024-September 2025 training year.
  12. Medium October 2, 2025 Correction verified November 3, 2025

    746.1309(e): Documented Annual Training- Required Content

    Of the six personnel records evaluated, two did not receive training in communicable diseases including immunizations and understanding building and physical premises safety for the September 2024-September 2025 training year.
  13. Medium October 2, 2025 Correction verified October 3, 2025

    746.1311(c): Director Annual Training -Required 1 hour in prevention, recognition and reporting of child maltreatment

    The director did not complete training in the recognition of child abuse and neglect for the August 2024-August 2025 training year.
  14. Medium High October 2, 2025 Correction verified November 3, 2025

    746.5202(1): Emergency Preparedness Plan - Evacuation, relocation, and sheltering/lock-down procedures

    The emergency preparedness plan does not state how children will be evacuated from the center and how children under the age of 2 will be evacuated.
  15. High October 2, 2025 Correction verified November 8, 2025

    746.201(1): Policies Comply with Rules

    The parent handbook lacked the following information: 1. Requirements for indoor/outdoor physical activity, benefits of indoor//outdoor physical activity, duration of indoor/outdoor physical activity, type of indoor/outdoor physical activity, the setting, recommended clothing and footwear, criteria used when the weather prevents outdoor play and plan for physical activity when outdoor play is limited. 2. Instructions on how parents may access Minimum Standards, the HHSC website and contact information for the local Child Care Regulation Office. 3. Staff vaccination policy
  16. Medium October 2, 2025 Correction verified October 15, 2025

    746.603(a)(2): Children's Records - Admission Information

    Of the six children's records evaluated, the following information was missing: 1. One lacked the address for the emergency contact 2. One lacked authorization for emergency medical care. 3. One lacked the phone number of the child's doctor
  17. Low October 2, 2025 Correction verified October 15, 2025

    746.611(a)(1): Required Health Statement - Written, dated within past year, indicates child is physically able to participate in operation's child-care program

    Of the six children's records evaluated, five lacked the name and address of the doctor who examined the child within the past year.
  18. Medium Low October 2, 2025 Corrected at inspection

    746.405(b)(1): Required posting of name, address, and telephone number - Local CCR office

    The emergency telephone number posting included the incorrect telephone number for the local Child Care Regulation Office. This was corrected at inspection.
Do you have a child enrolled here?

If Alpha Academy confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.

There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.

About this record

Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.

Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.