ChildCareTX

Academy of Little Scholars

Licensed Center in Houston, Texas. License #535288, issued September 2, 1998.

Address
8802 W Montgomery Rd, Houston, TX 77088
Phone
(281) 820-3332
Licensed capacity
46 children
Licensed for
Infant, Toddler, Pre-Kindergarten, School
Hours
06:00 AM-06:00 PM
Days
Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri
Child care subsidies
Accepted

Programs listed with the state: School Age Care, Before School Care, Meals Provided, After School Care, Snacks Provided, Transportation to/from School.

The state records conditions on this permit . What these mean.

Openings

This program has not told us about its openings. We only publish what a program confirms itself, so there is nothing here yet. Ring them to ask.

Texas Rising Star

Texas Rising Star 2-star of a possible 4

A quality rating the state awards after an on-site assessment. Four stars is the highest.

In effect since August 13, 2025. From the state's provider report of August 12, 2026.

Where this is

A map of this address loads when you ask for it. Nothing is requested from the map host until then, so opening this page does not tell anyone which program you were reading about.

Open in OpenStreetMap

The pin is where the US Census geocoder placed this address. About one in eight is interpolated along a street rather than resolved to a building, so treat it as the right block rather than the right doorway. How we source this.

What inspectors checked

Texas HHSC records how many individual standards it evaluated in each area of the rules, and how many it found violated. Across 22 areas it checked 4,151 standards at Academy of Little Scholars between November 19, 2021 and October 14, 2026 and recorded 22 violations. Those correspond to the citations listed above that were recorded from 2021 onward; anything older than that is in the citation list but not in these counts.

The 22 areas, one by one
Area of the rulesVisitsStandards checkedViolated
Scope, administration, and communication44791
Record keeping33261
Personnel34415
Ratios and group sizes31620
Activities31040
Infants43542
Toddlers3660
Pre-kindergarten3550
School-age3600
Discipline3600
Naptime3360
Field trips3330
Get well care3810
Nighttime care4520
Nutrition and food care31340
Health practices44501
Safety practices42880
Physical facilities32240
Outdoor safety32882
Pools41080
Fire safety32030
Transportation31320

The table adds up to 4,136 of those standards. The remaining 15, including 10 of the violations, were recorded under the state's own catch-all heading, “Individual Standards Evaluated”, which names no area. They are reported here rather than folded into an area above, because the state did not say which area they belong to and we are not going to decide for it.

A high number of standards checked is not a compliment and a low one is not a criticism: how many apply depends on a program's size, its ages served and what the inspector was there to look at. We publish the two counts the state published and do not turn them into a score. This data begins in 2021, which is later than the inspection history above it.

Ask about an opening

This goes to Academy of Little Scholars and nobody else. They reply to you directly: we do not sit in the middle of it, and we never pass your details on or sell them.

We email you a copy, and tell you honestly whether it reached them. Texas HHSC has no email address on file for about two programs in five, and for those the phone number above is the faster route.

Tell me about new inspections

One short message each time Texas HHSC records an inspection here, saying that it happened and linking to the record. We do not tell you what the inspector found: a finding without whether it was corrected is misleading, and that pair belongs on the page rather than split across an email.

We ask for nothing but the address, and we send a confirmation first. Your list is never shown to this program, never sold, and every message has a link to stop. An inspection is routine: programs are visited on a schedule and after a complaint, and a visit is not a finding.

State inspection record

HHSC records 10 visits to this operation since October 2017, most recently on October 14, 2026, and 22 citations.

212426
visitsvisits where something was found10 recorded visits since October 2017. More visits does not mean a worse program: how often the state comes depends on the license type, the program's age and whether anyone complained.
  • 2High
  • 9Medium High
  • 8Medium
  • 3Medium Low

Every citation below records a correction.

Citations

Showing all 22. Indented text is the inspector's own, reproduced verbatim.

  1. High October 14, 2026 Correction verified October 30, 2026

    745.247: Franchise Tax Delinquent

    The operation franchise tax is inactive.
  2. Medium Low January 21, 2026 Correction verified January 27, 2026

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2025 data from January 20, 2026, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2025 by January 15, 2026, as required.
  3. Medium High October 14, 2025 Correction verified October 28, 2025

    746.613(b): Immunization Records, Exceptions, and Exemptions Current

    A child's affidavit for exemption for immunization expired on February 28, 2024.
  4. Medium October 14, 2025 Correction verified October 24, 2025

    746.1311(e): Director Annual Training - Additional required topics

    The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing Emergency preparedness, administering medication, food or an allergic reaction, and Handling and storing training.
  5. Medium October 14, 2025 Correction verified October 24, 2025

    746.1311(c): Director Annual Training -Required 1 hour in prevention, recognition and reporting of child maltreatment

    The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing child maltreatment training.
  6. Medium High October 14, 2025 Correction verified November 4, 2025

    746.4901(a): Active Play Surfacing In Use Zones - Loose Fill or Unitary Surfacing

    The loose-fill in the playground consists of less than an inch of mulch.
  7. Medium October 14, 2025 Correction verified October 24, 2025

    746.1309(c): Documented Annual Training - 1 hour in Prevention, Recognition and Reporting of child maltreatment

    A caregiver's annual training was evaluated from October 18, 2023, to October 18, 2024, and it was found to be missing child maltreatment training.
  8. Medium High October 14, 2025 Correction verified October 24, 2025

    746.1311(d): Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months

    The director s annual training was evaluated from March 2, 2024, to March 2, 2025, and it was found to be missing the required training for caring for children under 24 months.
  9. Medium October 14, 2025 Correction verified November 4, 2025

    746.4803: Measurement of Use Zone for Stationary Equipment

    CCR observed stationary equipment positioned less than six feet from the perimeter.
  10. Medium October 14, 2025 Correction verified October 24, 2025

    746.1309(e): Documented Annual Training- Required Content

    A caregiver's annual training was evaluated from October 18, 2023, to October 18, 2024, and it was found to be missing emergency preparedness training.
  11. Medium October 14, 2025 Correction verified November 4, 2025

    746.2421(b): Written Feeding Instructions - Review and Update Every 30 Days

    An infant feeding sheet for the month of October was not available during the inspection.
  12. Medium Low January 17, 2025 Correction verified January 23, 2025

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2023 data from January 17, 2025, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2024 by January 15, 2025, as required.
  13. Medium High November 15, 2022 Correction verified December 8, 2022

    746.1311(d): Director Annual Training - Caring for children under 24 months

    The director did not receive training in SIDS, Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma, Understanding Early Childhood Brain Development for the March 2021-March 2022 training year. This will be make-up training hours and will not count towards the current training year.
  14. High November 15, 2022 Correction verified December 19, 2022

    746.201(1): Policies Comply with Rules

    The operational policies does not include the following information: 1. The benefits of physical activity and outdoor play; the duration of physical activity at your operation, both indoor and outdoor; type of physical activity children will participate in; each setting in which your physical activity program will take place; recommended clothing and footwear; plan for physical activity when the weather prevents outside activities. 2. Instructions on how parents may contact the local Child Care Regulation Office. 3. Safe sleep policy for infants 12 months old and younger. 4. Staff vaccination policy.
  15. Medium November 15, 2022 Correction verified December 8, 2022

    746.2421(a): Written Feeding Instructions - Signed and Dated by Parent or Health-Care Professional

    Written feeding instructions were not available for one infant.
  16. Medium High November 15, 2022 Correction verified December 8, 2022

    746.2431: Infant Daily Report - Share with Parent

    Daily infant reports are not being completed and provided to the parents.
  17. Medium November 15, 2022 Correction verified December 8, 2022

    746.1309(e): Documented Annual Training- Required Content

    Two caregivers were lacking training in the following topics: Caregiver A needs training in administering medications, food allergies and handling, storing and disposing of hazardous materials. Caregiver B needs training in handling, storing and disposing of hazardous materials. This will be make-up training hours and will not count towards the current training year.
  18. Medium High November 15, 2022 Correction verified December 8, 2022

    746.1309(d): Documented Annual Training - Caregivers of Children Under 24 Months Required

    One caregiver did not receive training in Shaken Baby Syndrome, Abusive Head Trauma and Understanding Early Childhood Brain Development for the March 2021-March 2022 training year. The caregiver will need to receive make-up training hours that will not count towards the current training year.
  19. Medium High November 15, 2022 Correction verified December 8, 2022

    746.1301(4)(A): Training Requirements for Employees, Caregivers, and directors - Pediatric CPR

    Of the four personnel records evaluated, two have not completed a valid CPR training course. The caregivers completed a CPR training course on-line.
  20. Medium Low March 2, 2022 Correction verified April 8, 2022

    746.303(b): Report Number of Employees

    A review of the Employees Who Left Employment in 2021 data from February 23, 2022, revealed that the center had not reported the number of employees who left employment in 2021 by February 22, 2022, as required
  21. Medium High January 4, 2022 Correction verified January 4, 2022

    746.3401(a): Annual Sanitation Inspection

    There is no documentation showing that health inspection was complete.
  22. Medium High November 19, 2021 Correction verified January 4, 2022

    746.3401(a): Annual Sanitation Inspection

    There is no documentation showing that health inspection was complete.
Do you have a child enrolled here?

If Academy of Little Scholars confirms you are enrolled, you can tell us what you actually pay. We publish price ranges by city and age so other families know what to expect, and the only reliable source for that is people paying it.

There are no reviews on this site and we are not adding them. We publish the state's inspection record and facts families confirm, not opinions. Your address is never shown publicly; it goes to the program so they can confirm you, and nowhere else.

About this record

Every figure on this page comes from the Texas HHSC Child Care Regulation open data published at data.texas.gov, reproduced as the state recorded it. We do not grade, score or rank programs. A citation is a finding by a state inspector on a given day; it is not a judgment about a program today, and the correction status beside each one is part of the record. This page reflects data retrieved on November 8, 2026. Full methodology.

Operate this program? Write to corrections@childcaretx.com and we will publish your response beside any record here.